logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Archetype-Cop
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-02-17 03:22
Innocent in Death By J.D. Robb
Innocent in Death - J.D. Robb

Innocent in Death is number 24 of J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series and my introduction to the books.

 

It’s the year 2060 and lieutenant Eve Dallas has taken a case involving a young teacher’s murder. The case seems like a standard poisoning, but Eve is having trouble building a good list of possible suspects. The young teacher seemed honestly well liked in the community with no real enemies. On the home front, Eve is battling her own insecurities as an old flame from her husband’s, path has suddenly returned.

 

I devoured this book in less than 24 hours, it was pretty spectacular. I loved the futuristic and gritty world. It gave everything a great almost film noir tone to the story. The hard edge really complimented the eclectic cast of characters.

 

Eve was the highlight of this for me. She’s a spectacular heroine who has a slightly skewed perspective of the world compared to everyone around her. I liked that in this installment we saw a vulnerability in Eve that offered a balance to the tough and highly competent homicide detective.

 

While I loved this as an introduction to Eve Dallas and her world, I’m not sure if I would’ve enjoyed this story as much if I had already been familiar with everything. I really enjoyed how all the drama between Eve and Roarke played out. However, the main mystery lost my interest toward the end. Call me cynical, but when the villain was unveiled I couldn’t drum-up the expected horror over it. So, the drawn out ending centered around the murderer bored me.

 

Despite this, I really enjoyed Innocent in Death and can’t wait to pick-up another book in the series

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2014-01-31 19:23
Bear Meets Girl
Bear Meets Girl - Shelly Laurenston

Crush is an ex-cop who, after a party, wakes up naked with Marcella Malone. Crush wants nothing more than to just forget the whole incident and return to his stable life. Unfortunately, he can't shake Marcella off, as no matter where he goes she seems to pop-up. Much to Crush's frustration she also seems to get her jollies by embarrassing him.

I was really looking forward to Bear Meets Girl, but it didn't live up to expectations. In fact, I think this was probably my least favorite Laurenston book yet. Crush bored me, which was sad since I typically really enjoy Laurenston's bear-shifters. It felt like Laurenston went a little too far aiming for an up-tight hero and just gave us a bland one. I enjoyed Marcella's character a lot more. She goes out of her way to torment Crush every chance she gets, which made for some pretty funny moments. However, the attraction between her and Crush was non-existent until near the very end and even then it felt kind of...tacked on. The way Laurenston ended the book didn't help with that feeling either. The story ends abruptly and left me wondering if my e-book somehow didn't download all of the book.

 

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this one unless you're a die-hard fan of the series.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-01-18 00:59
The Mane Attraction - Shelly Laurenston

Wolf-shifter Sissy Mae Smith and lion-shifter Mitch Shaw have been close friends for quite some time. So when Mitch is shot, Sissy volunteers to help hide him from his would-be killers. Only problem is that this consists of holing up in middle-of-nowhere Tennessee with Sissy's extended family, who is none too happy about her being back in town.

This wasn't my favorite from Laurenston, but it wasn't bad. Watching Mitch and Sissy circle each other was highly entertaining, but I never completely felt the attraction between them. This is probably because I don't care for the way Laurenston writes her lion shifters. Nine times out of ten I just want to strangle them. However, I have to say that Mitch was much more enjoyable than Mace and Brendan were in The Mane Event. I would recommend this to people who have read and enjoyed other works by Laurenston, but wouldn't advise someone to start reading the series with this one.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2014-01-18 00:15
Don't Mess with Texas
Don't Mess with Texas - Christie Craig

I had high hopes for Don't Mess with Texas. It seemed really cute and I had heard a lot of good things about it, but no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn't get into it.

Nicki Hunt needs cash because she's flat broke. If she doesn't get any money soon, then she's going to lose her art gallery. After getting a phone call from her wealthy ex-husband, Nicki goes to dinner with him thinking that maybe she'll be able to overlook his cheating ways for a reunion. However he vanishes in the middle of the meal on a phone call and doesn't return. Fuming, Nicki returns to her car only to find her ex, dead and stuffed in the trunk. Nicki is immediately the prime suspect with only P.I., Dallas O'Connor believing she didn't do it.

Craig has a light writing style that I typically enjoy in contemporary romances. However, a lot of the jokes here seemed like cheap shots; such as a gassy dog and birds pooping on nurses. Dallas also didn't work for me. I think he was supposed to be an angsty character who slowly starts finding some happiness, but this just didn't work with the slap-stick comedy tone of the story. The tone made Dallas seem pouty and a bit of a tool. I did like Nicki though. She was an entertaining character and I loved her relationship with her grandmother. Despite that, I probably won't be picking up another book by Craig in the future.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-01-11 03:13
FBI agent Falls for Billionaire Heiress
A Lot like Love - Julie James

Jordan runs a wine shop in Chicago and also happens to be a billionaire heiress. One night while getting ready to close up her shop, two FBI agents approach her with a deal she can't turn down. If she helps the FBI get an undercover agent into a high profile Valentine's Day party, they'll spring her brother from prison. But the operation goes wrong when the FBI's target becomes jealous of Jordan's mystery date and hires a private investigator to dig up some dirt. So, now Jordan is stuck with an undercover FBI agent as a fake boyfriend.

Jordan was a wonderful character. She was sarcastic and really cared about her family. I loved that she didn't live in a bubble either. She had friends, family, and work obligations that are displayed in this story. I also really adored her relationship with her twin brother, the one who she's trying to get out of jail.

Nick, the hero, was also great, even if he did sometimes come across as a little bland. He was funny and I liked that you saw him struggle with the idea of a committed relationship and what that means for his career.

All in all, I would recommend this book for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Jennifer Crusie.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?