logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Disability
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-10-30 02:34
So You Want to Talk About Race - Ijeoma Oluo
So You Want to Talk About Race - Ijeoma Oluo

Really I don't have any interest in talking about race. What I want is to be a better human in a way that is helpful to other human beings. Oluo is someone I follow on Twitter. Her writing is wonderfully clear and straightforward and also surprisingly kind.  But so practical! Mostly I try to avoid ever talking to anyone about anything, but this book lays out for me concrete times and places and ways to use my privilege to benefit others. Surprisingly kind because withstanding a lifetime of abuse by society should enrage everyone. Our culture is cruel and dehumanizing and grossly unfair, and some days it is all I can do not to run screaming. This is what we have made and it is awful and cruel and murderous. It is prejudiced and short sighted and stupid and it is only the astounding grace and kindness of individuals in the worst moments that make it worthwhile.

I want to make life easier and better and more just for everyone and I thank Oluo for taking the time to share her wisdom and determination and to encourage me forward in the light. Right now feels very dark, so I am grateful to all those who can show me a way forward and give me hope not just that we can do better, but that we will rise up and choose to do better. Sometimes just looking after those closest to me is all I can manage and not even do that well. But more often I can listen, and learn, and witness, and maybe, just a little more, I can speak. And remember, every day that humankind is my business.

 

Library copy

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2018-10-29 02:52
Book Review : A quiet kind of thunder Sarah Barnard
A Quiet Kind of Thunder - Sara Barnard

sep 24-29 

A girl who can’t speak and a boy who can’t hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson.

Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition’s name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not “select” not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can’t open her mouth to get out the words.

Steffi’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she’ll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person


Review : this book was beautiful I loved it Steffi is mute she meets Rhys who is deaf they start to form a friendship I cried a bit in this book cause I related so much to Steffi . Rhys and Steffi start dating . Steffi starts to talk a bit more . Rhys and Steffi decide to go on a secret trip but then a accident happens and Steffi has to talk to get Rhys to the hospital . Rhys sends steffi a email and she tells him to meet up with her and they talk and they decide to talk way more and no more secrets loved this book.

Quotes :

“Panic attacks are a lot like being drunk in some ways, you lose self-control. You cry for seemingly no reason. You deal with the hangover long into the next day.”

“Here are three separate but similar things: shyness, introversion and social anxiety. You can have one, two or all three of these things simultaneously. A lot of the time people thing they're all the same thing, but that's just not true. Extroverts can be shy, introverts can be bold, and a condition like anxiety can strike whatever kind of social animal you are. 

Lots of people are shy. Shy is normal. A bit of anxiety is normal. Throw the two together, add some brain-signal error - a NO ENTRY sign on the neural highway from my brain to my mouth perhaps, though no one really knows - and you have me.” 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-10-25 17:47
Review: “Dead in the Shop” (Grasmere Cottage Mystery, #3) by Dahlia Donovan
Dead in the Shop - Dahlia Donovan

 

~ 2 stars ~

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-10-24 15:21
Review: “Dead in the Pond” (Grasmere Cottage Mystery, #2) by Dahlia Donovan
Dead in the Pond - Dahlia Donovan

 

~ 3 stars ~

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-10-22 13:49
Review: “Dead in the Garden” (Grasmere Cottage Mystery, #1) by Dahlia Donovan
Dead in the Garden - Dahlia Donovan

 

~ 3 stars ~

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?