logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Manga
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-14 04:00
[REVIEW] What Did You Eat Yesterday? #2 by Fumi Yoshinaga
What Did You Eat Yesterday? Volume 2[WHAT DID YOU EAT YESTERDAY V02][Paperback] - FumiYoshinaga

This manga series is my perfect place to hide from the world. I buy a volume whenever I feel I deserve a treat or accomplished a big thing.

 

I loved the recipes in this volume and would like to try a few of them. In this case, I was introduced to Nikujaga (肉じゃが) and I want to have this dish ASAP. It sounds like the ultimate comfort dish for the coming fall nights.

 

I also enjoyed learning more about how Shiro and Kenji met and how they came to live together.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-08-10 17:52
Wishlist or future ILL request
My Love Story!!, Vol. 1 - Aruko,Kazune Kawahara

I started watching the anime adaptation of this the other day, and I'll probably give the manga a shot at some point. It starts off with a setup that looks like a typical love triangle: cute girl and a good-looking guy who's friends with a big burly dude (the series' main character). But there's a twist: the cute girl actually likes (really really likes) the big burly dude.

 

The big burly dude, Takeo, falls immediately in love with the cute girl, Yamato, but assumes that she, like all other girls he's crushed on in the past, is really interested in his good-looking friend, Suna. Suna has bluntly rejected every single girl who has ever asked him out, sometimes going as far as to say "I hate you" to their faces...so it looks like there's a good chance Yamato is going to end up hurt. Because Takeo's genuinely a good guy, wants Yamato to be happy, and thinks he's spotted signs that Suna might actually like Yamato back a little, Takeo tries to help Yamato out with Suna. What Takeo doesn't realize is that he has completely misread the situation: Yamato is actually interested in him. (Not exactly a spoiler - this gets revealed pretty early on.)

 

Things I like about the series so far:

 

- Yamato is genuinely attracted to Takeo - this isn't a case of "she fell for his personality first and then the rest came later."

 

- Suna's sister. It looks like she isn't going to be around in the anime much, so I'm hoping she has a larger role in the manga.

 

- Suna and Takeo's friendship. It looks forced, at first, but later developments flesh it out more. I think I'm more interested in how they became and stayed friends than I am in Takeo and Yamato's romance.

 

Things I'm not wild about:

 

- The moments of secondhand embarrassment.

 

- Takeo's practice kiss. This scene was short, but horrifying enough that I could see it ruining the series for some people. I sincerely hope it isn't in the manga. I'm sure it was intended to be funny, but it wasn't. At all.

 

- While Takeo and Yamato's romance is sweet, I feel like Takeo would have happily dated and fallen in love with literally any cute girl in the series. On the plus side, at least his interest in Yamato never wavers.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-09 08:00
Pixar Manga: Finding Nemo
Disney Pixar Finding Nemo Manga--Special Collector's Edition (Pixar Manga Collection) - Ryuichi Hoshino

The Finding Nemo Manga, as others in the PopTokyo series, follows the story of the movie quite strict, so it is more of a re-watch than an addition to the movie. For me, it was a nice way to brush up Finding Nemo in time for Finding Dory, the sequel.

At the start there is some extra information on the different characters, but otherwise, expect the movie is manga-form, the art style also resembles that of the movie.

Nice for fans of Finding Nemo and Pixar!

Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-08 13:00
Laser Moose And Rabbit Boy
Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy - Doug Savage

Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy may seem an unlikely duo, but they make a very cute one. Together they protect their forest from threats, all the while Laser Moose shoots, ehm, lasers from his eyes.

While aimed at children, this comic book is also very nice for adults. There are some nice mysteries in it, I was pleasantly surprised.

Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-04 19:50
Bizenghast Collectors Edition 1
Bizenghast Volume 1 - M. Alice LeGrow

[I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.]

I've had this comic book on my shelf to read and review for quite some time, I just didn't get to it until now. (I've known about it for quite, quite some time, back when the author posted on deviantART, and when I saw it on NetGalley, well, it reminded me that at some point, many years ago, I used to check on the related art from time to time.) The copy I got is the Collectors Edition, vollume 1, gathering the first chapters of the Bizenghast series, and I'd say it's more an introduction for now, but still giving the reader to see enough.

A strange girl who isn't getting over her parents' death and whose health seems to suffer in consequence; a boy who seems to be her only friend, in the small remote town where she lives with her aunt who doesn't know what to do with her; and a contract signed in a mysterious castle with a strange arachnoid-slash-humanoid being, with the goal of freeing spirits who couldn't find solace in death, following a trail of riddles. I am not sure yet where this is leading, but in themselves, the first 'tasks' involved sufficiently creepy elements to keep me hooked.

The art is sometimes confusing and inconsistent, though, potentially because it's a work that started years ago, and one can see the author's style changed over the years. Still, it's worth a read.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?