logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: crime-thriller
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-07-25 17:46
Review: "The Forester: Forester Triad Act One" (Tales of the Forest, #1) by Blaine D. Arden
The Forester: Forester Triad Act One - Blaine D. Arden

 

~ 3.5 stars ~

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-07-24 09:13
great first book, second not so much.
Road Trip Vol. 1 - BA Tortuga Road Trip Vol. 1 - BA Tortuga
Independent reviewer for Divine Magazine, I was gifted my copy of this book. This is a two book set, Racing The Moon, and Steam And Sunshine, and I read them back to back, so my review will be for both books, as a single listing. I enjoyed reading about Sonny and MJ, in Racing The Moon. They come together in an unusual way, Sonny running his Moonshine and MJ blowing up Sonny's escape route! There is immediate chemistry between these guys, I mean, they are trying to kill each other but it quickly turns into sexual chemistry. And THAT is way off the charts! Once these guys get with the programme, they are at it like bunnies and I LIKED that ....in the first book. But in Steam and Sunshine?? not so much. Every little thing sets them off, like EVERYTHING!!! And its on every bloody page, almost. Oh, I'm not against high levels of sexual activity, not at all, but it has to be in keeping with the book, and it took me an inordinate amount of time to read the 330 pages its billed on Goodreads as. I had to keep putting it down, and coming back to it, just to give myself a break from it all! In the first book, its pretty much just Sonny and MJ, with side characters, but in book 2, Neil and Paddy are introduced, hog tied and kidnapped! And these guys are great, weird, as are Sonny and MJ, but great. I liked them. It's very well written, from Sonny, MJ, Neil and Paddy's point of view. All four of them are very different, and it does take a little time to get into each character's way of thinking. Quite hard, at first, but I found it quicker to get with Neil and Paddy, than Sonny and MJ, possibly because I read them back to back. And these guys are BADASS! All of them are, but Sonny and MJ more so. They make no apologies for who and what they are, and I did love that, even badass as they are, Sonny and MJ managed to find those three little words. Kinda cute, but don't tell them that! There is a bigger picture across the stories, and I'm not seeing it yet. I have inklings, but I can't see that picture, and BECAUSE I can't see it, I would love to be able to read books 3 and 4 in this series. Had I just read book one, I would have rated that 5 stars, but this is for volume one, and is for two books and I had some issues with book two, so.... 4 stars **same worded review will appear elsewhere**

 

Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-07-03 11:05
much better read than book one.
Luca - Sarah Castille
This is book two in Ruin and Revenge series, but you don't need to have read book one, Nico, before this. While this book follows that one, and reading this before that would be spoilers, it doesn't really matter. I gave book one 4 stars. I enjoyed this one a little more. It's still quite dark, with the Mafia being Luca's family and I think it's a little more violent, because Luca does like to get his hands dirty, but it gripped me a little more, I think. It kinda grabbed by the throat and didn't wanna let go, not til all had been revealed! And let me tell ya, I did not see that one coming!! Nope, not even after that bombshell exploded, did I put the pieces together fast enough and I was like, say WHAT!!! I was somewhat shocked there. I loved that Luca battles with himself over Gabrielle. Knowing she is a Detective and him not being able to walk away could cost him his life, but still, he cannot hold back the dam of protectiveness she unleashed in him. Loved that Gabrielle didn't put her clues together fast enough about Luca. Loved that even though Luca is who he is, and who he belongs to, she can't walk away from the man she loves. Can't watch him lose his life! Oh I LOVED that, when Gabrielle does what she does!! Glad that the bad guy gets his comeuppance, but not saying who or how. There is, as in book one, a third person who has a say. I was worried for this person for a while, but loved how Castille worked him into the plot, and how, small and insignificant he is for most of the book, it's he who gives Luca and Gabrielle the in they need to get the job done. Like I said, a darker, bloodier, read, mainly because Luca does like to lead by example but also because of what Luca suffers at the hands of the previously mentioned bad guy. Not nice reading that. But!! Because it grabbed and didn't let go . . . . 5 full stars. **same worded review will appear elsewhere**

 

Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-07-03 11:03
good, but didnt blow me away.
The Fangs of Scavo - Selina Kray
Detective Inspector Timothy Stoker is tasked with bringing down Hieronymus Bash, an amateur detective trying to bring down charlatans and show people taking money for nothing. The two men are thrown together when both cases become muddled and some trophies that protect the hunters for the Demon Cats of Scavo are stolen. I liked this, it was different and different is always good in my book. I just found it a little . . . . .long winded. Both Tim, and Heiro are prone to using, for want of a better phrase, big long words that gave the impression they had swallowed a dictionary. I found myself constantly checking the meaning of words, and phrases, and it meant that I lost my flow many times, leading to the long winded feeling I'm left with. Oh don't get me wrong, it's a really GOOD book, just not one that blew me away. Tim and Heiro have instant and powerful chemistry, and its great watching them come together, even if what they are doing might get them hanged. Set in late Victorian times, laying with another man was highly illegal. Both men know this, yet they cannot deny their feelings. I didn't get the whodunit til it was revealed in the book, and I did like being kept on my toes. I changed my mind many times, and each time I was proved wrong and I really did not see that one coming! Extremely well written, in the third person, from both man's point of view, with no spelling or editing errors I spotted, I have no doubt some will love this. I'm just sorry I couldn't. I would, however, like to read any future books in the series, or something else written by Ms Kray. I liked, big long words aside, the way she spins a tale. So, a good book, just not a brilliant one but still it gets. . . . 4 stars. **same worded review will appear elsewhere**

 

Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-07-01 04:54
The Lucky Ones
The Lucky Ones - Mark Edwards

By: Mark Edwards 

ISBN: 978-1477848272

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer 

Publication Date:  6/15/2017 

Format: Other

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

Bestselling author, Mark Edwards returns following (2016)The Devil’s Work with his latest THE LUCKY ONES a twisty psycho-thriller featuring a serial killer who wants his victims to die happy. 

Perfectly happy and ready to die. A killer who tries to make his victims’ lives perfect before he kills them. 

Set in Shropshire, we meet a detective, an average man who desires a better life, and a killer. Told from different POV with two parts. 

Who will be “The Lucky Ones?” Does he "make" them happy? How does the murderer know what needs fixing in their lives? 

Detective Imogen Evans knew bodies were not discovered in picturesque places like this. Her first serial killer, the man the tabloids called the Shropshire Viper had struck –a snake, fangs glistening with venom for the third time.

A killer who likes a little cocktail of morphine to keep his victims smiling.

 




Ben Holland is newly separated (cheating wife), raising an eleven-year-old son, Ollie on his own. Things are not going well and his finances are strained. His mom has terminal cancer. He is down on his luck. However, soon his luck may change. 

The killer is one evil guy (of course Edwards is no stranger to unique twists). The Viper wants his victims to die in bliss. He wants them to die happy. He manipulates their lives and circumstances and turns their life around, to end their life on a good note. 

There does not seem to be a link between the victims and DI Inspector Imogen Evans is driven to solve this crime before he strikes next. The Secret of Happy Place. Why does their body turn up in their “happy place?”

Intense! If you are a fan of talented "thriller King", Mark Edwards— you have come to expect gripping, entertaining and a well-crafted twisty plot with characters who come alive on the page. 

From suspenseful plotting and solid character development, this complex fast-paced page-turner will keep fans reading into the wee hours of the morning— nothing predictable here! 

Top-of-the-line thriller writing with remarkable skill. For fans of Stephen King, Linwood Barclay, Paul Cleave, and Jennifer Hillier. For new readers who enjoy a mix of crime, humor, and psychological— suspense, mystery, horror, and thriller.

If you have not read Follow You Home (2015), highly recommend —one of my favorites! Top Books of 2015. 

A special thank you to Thomas & Mercer for an early reading copy. 

Also purchased the audiobook narrated by Simon Mattacks for an edge-of-your-seat chilling performance.

JDCMustReadBooks

 

 

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2017/03/01/The-Lucky-Ones
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?