logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: paranormal
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-30 16:42
That cover! The Blurb! The book :/
Witches for Hire (Odd Jobs) - Sam Argent

I was really excited to say the least when I stumbled across this story the blurb sounded awesome and the cover...I mean seriously? Who doesn't want to read this book once they've read the blurb and seen that cover so on a promotional level this book nailed it because really that's what the blurb and the cover are...they're promotional materials meant to draw the reader in and gain their interest in the book and if I was giving stars for that this book would probably get at least 4 out of 5. But that's not what I'm giving stars for...nope, those two stars are for what comes after the cover and the blurb.

 

Sadly what came after the blurb for me was a bit confusing. 'Witches for Hire' is the first book in Sam Argent's series 'Odd Jobs' unfortunately for most of this book I felt like I'd been plunked into the middle of a series without the background info that often helps things make sense. As the story progressed I was given a fair bit of background that did help sort out much of my confusion but I would have really liked some of this info to have come sooner than it did. 

 

'Witches for Hire' was a bit of a mixed bag for me because while there were things that I liked about it, there were also things that just didn't work for me and as much as I would like to go into more detail about what I didn't like, I don't feel that I can do this without divulging some pretty pertinent information in regards to the story's plot. So, I'm going to focus a little more on some of what worked for me.

 

One of the things that worked the best for me were the characters. I liked Jeremy. He was interesting and far more complex than he initially seemed. Many of the secondary characters were also rather interesting and what we were given of their background hinted at strong potential for their own stories...Simone, Witches for Hire's receptionist, a witch who is married to a werewolf and has no coven and also seems to be far more powerful than she lets on, Clive a knight from another realm who is the new owner of 'Witches for Hire' who is extremely powerful running out of realms he can go to. Clive's friends Mia and her husband, Raj, who run their own magical detective agency, also knights and seem to show up when they're least expected. The Amazon, Edarra, who works at 'Witches for Hire' and has some heroic deeds she needs to accomplish. Senator Ragsdale, Jeremy's father. Desmond the Great, Atlanta's star magician and someone with much stronger ties to Jeremy than most realize, council member Salvatore someone who wants much stronger ties to Jeremy. 

 

It all sounds so intriguing and has the potential be one hella' good read but somewhere along the line the waters got muddied and things were oftentimes confusing with POVs jumped around and scene changes happening in such a way that I was left wondering if I was missing pages or paragraphs, at least, because I'd find myself going back and re-reading to try and figure out when and how I suddenly went from point 'A' to point 'E' and what happened to the stuff in between.

 

So in summary this wasn't so much a bad story as one that simply didn't work for me. There was strong potential and I did find the last 20 to 30% far more cohesive and interesting. Most of all I really wish that this had felt more like the first novel in a series with stronger background and world building rather than leaving me feeling like I was reading the third or fourth book in a series that needed to be read in order.

 

The result for me was that rather than enjoying what should have been a fun and interesting story, I was often left frustrated and disappointed. However, in spite of the potential for future stories I'm not really sure whether or not I'll continue, I definitely need to give that a lot of thought...but in truth...I doubt it, the again one never knows... never say never, right?

 

********************

An ARC of 'Witches for Hire' was graciously provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-29 16:03
REVIEW BY MERISSA - Ignite (Midnight Fire #1) by Kaitlyn Davis
Ignite - Kaitlyn Davis
This book is billed as "perfect for fans of Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Buffy The Vampire Slayer" and I can see it. To be honest, at the start of the book I was worried that it would just be like Twilight all the way through, as it starts with a girl moving to a new town, starting a new school and seeing someone she is intrigued by in the school canteen during her first lunch. Once I passed this stage though, I was taken in with the story of Kira, Tristan and Luke, and who and what they are. Once again though, the ending is reminiscent of Twilight as Kira is in hospital, but trust me, how she ends up there is completely different to Twilight and also how she behaves once she gets out. There are references to Buffy made in this story but, in my opinion, the only reason that the Twilight references stick out is because they are at the start and ending of the book. Otherwise, they would fade into the story more.

This story is well-written, the characters are developed and continue with this throughout. The grammar and editing have actually been looked at which always makes a nice change. I really enjoyed this story and have put the rest on my wishlist to get as soon as I can.

Recommended for all Paranormal Romance / Young Adult fans out there.
 
* Verified Purchase - November 2012 *
 
Merissa
Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

 

@DavisKaitlyn, #Young_Adult, #Paranormal, #Romance, 4 out of 5 (very good)

 

Source: sites.google.com/site/archaeolibrarian/merissa-reviews/ignitemidnightfire1bykaitlyndavis
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-29 14:01
Wicked Abyss by Kresley (I love this author) Cole
Wicked Abyss - Kresley Cole

I absolutely love this series, Immortals After Dark. I set alarms for release dates, I get desparate enough to troll fanfic, I even have my tattoo dude drawing a tat for them. Something interesting... Before drawing the thing he is reading the books, he loves them, just wishes the porn scenes (as he calls them) weren't so frequent, I have no problem with their frequency ;).

 

This is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, probably the best I have ever read, and I have read quite a few of them. I could see a great resemble between this and Disney's animated movie, I haven't seen the new one yet though, I really want to. We get relatively new characters, and the story is set in a new to us realm were most of the previous characters are not present, so not a lot of revisiting going on, we do get brief glimpses though. I do wish we got to see a bit more of the Valkyries, I miss them crazy bitches! 

 

I loved the couple in this and feel they were perfect. The female, Lila. She is smart, tricksy, bold, and tough as nails. The male, Sian, is a hulk of a beast. He is also smart and tricksy, but he has some past baggage that is ruling his thoughts and actions. He does a lot of growing up during the pages of this story. They have great chemistry and I thoroughly enjoying reading of their battle to love. 

 

This is another match made by Nix. There is so much going on. Nix is trying to make her best hand before dreaded ascension is full force. I am considering a reread of the story. Can't wait for the next book. Beauty

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-29 13:56
REVIEW BY MERISSA - The Hunter (Sinful Supes) by Xandrie Kovak
The Hunter - Xandrie Kovak
The Hunter has a small overlap with The Fervor and then continues straight after, giving you a snapshot into both points of view. Claire is doing what she can to protect Lucas, even as she works through her feelings that are quite simply overwhelming. She has a lot to learn, but as Vaughn says, she's not so much of a bunny this time around. There is plenty going on as Claire has to learn how to control her Succubus powers, taking lessons from an Incubus, as well as dealing with Vicks, AND trying not to die from Succubus starvation!
 
This is excellently written, with no editing or grammatical errors that disrupted my reading flow. The characters continue to go from strength to strength, and Claire and Lucas are fantastic together! I love this couple so much!!! Although this book is classed as the sequel to The Fervor, I would highly recommend that you read the whole series as there are brilliant insights into Camilla and West, as well as other characters, which help to round off the whole storyline. I really hope that this isn't the last we will hear from them, although it's not entirely clear from the epilogue. A wonderful, raw, violent, passionate world and I LOVED IT. Absolutely recommended by me.
 
* Verified Purchase ~ March 2017 *
 
Merissa
Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

 

#Dark, #Paranormal, #Fantasy, #Adult, 5 out of 5 (exceptional)

 

Source: sites.google.com/site/archaeolibrarian/merissa-reviews/thehuntersinfulsupesbyxandriekovak
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-29 03:38
A TOUCH OF DEATH by Marissa Dobson
A Touch of Death (Reaper) - Marissa Dobson
  Sets up the Reaper series. Introduces the characters and begins building the world of Jael and her brother Cleg. There is a killer where she works as an EMT and Cleg is the detective in charge of the investigation. With the passing of their mother, Jael learns that she is now the Grim Reaper as well as all the things her mother never told her but told her brother. Now she must deal with becoming the Grim Reaper.

I liked these characters. I could understand Jael's trepidation with becoming the Grim Reaper. I liked how she handles it and how she helps others cross over. The world building is good. I look forward to more in this series. It is different and refreshing.
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?