Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: ignite-me
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-02-23 14:33
#13 - Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi
Ignite Me - Tahereh Mafi

Going on with my re-read of this series. I think this book is actually my favourite of the original trilogy. I do really like who Juliette is becoming and how she does stand her ground. She is strong and she finally understood that she has the power to change things, and most importantly, she discovered that she is not the only person who is suffering. Her life really sucked, I do agree, but she met people who will make her understand that she is not alone and that other people also had a rough life. 

Also, you might guess why it is my favourite… I mean that scene (I guess you all know which one I’m talking about!) Warner is really one of my favourite “villain” of all time; I totally adore his character. 

This made me even more excited about the upcoming new series, Restore Me is less than a month away guys !!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-01-05 10:12
Ignite (Underground Encounters #3) by Lisa Carlisle
Ignite - Lisa Carlisle
Ignite is the third book in the Underground Encounters series. This time we focus on Lily, a hard-working and driven woman, who goes to Vamps for a celebration. Whilst there, she sees, and hears, the singer of the band, and instantaneous attraction ignites! However, Lily makes him work for it - which I loved. As their relationship progresses, Lily has to keep her secrets, but Nico wants all in. This leads to some friction before decisions can be made.
This book worked really well! It made a nice change for the female to have the paranormal abilities, and the male to be 'normal'. Nico's reaction was completely believable, and so was Lily's. I also loved how the two previous couples made an appearance, and may even be working closely with Lily in the future. 
This book was very well written, with no editing or grammatical errors to disrupt my reading flow. The pace was smooth, and the story flowed from one scene to the other. A short and steamy read, definitely recommended by me.
* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and my comments here are my honest opinion. *
Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!
Source: sites.google.com/site/archaeolibrarian/merissa-reviews/igniteundergroundencounters3bylisacarlisle
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-07-06 00:58
As good as the first one!
Ignite: A New Adult Urban Fantasy (Spell... Ignite: A New Adult Urban Fantasy (Spelldrift: Coven of Fire Book 2) - Sierra Cross

I am absolutely loving this series! It's very well written with great characters and an action-packed storyline. The Coven of Fire still has plenty to overcome in this second book, some of it being the secrets they keep from each other. This one is just as good as the first with its snark, witty dialogue, characters that will drive you crazy even while you root for them, and so much action that you can barely catch your breath. I can't wait to see what's next for this crew of misfits.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-29 16:03
REVIEW BY MERISSA - Ignite (Midnight Fire #1) by Kaitlyn Davis
Ignite - Kaitlyn Davis
This book is billed as "perfect for fans of Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Buffy The Vampire Slayer" and I can see it. To be honest, at the start of the book I was worried that it would just be like Twilight all the way through, as it starts with a girl moving to a new town, starting a new school and seeing someone she is intrigued by in the school canteen during her first lunch. Once I passed this stage though, I was taken in with the story of Kira, Tristan and Luke, and who and what they are. Once again though, the ending is reminiscent of Twilight as Kira is in hospital, but trust me, how she ends up there is completely different to Twilight and also how she behaves once she gets out. There are references to Buffy made in this story but, in my opinion, the only reason that the Twilight references stick out is because they are at the start and ending of the book. Otherwise, they would fade into the story more.

This story is well-written, the characters are developed and continue with this throughout. The grammar and editing have actually been looked at which always makes a nice change. I really enjoyed this story and have put the rest on my wishlist to get as soon as I can.

Recommended for all Paranormal Romance / Young Adult fans out there.
* Verified Purchase - November 2012 *
Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


@DavisKaitlyn, #Young_Adult, #Paranormal, #Romance, 4 out of 5 (very good)


Source: sites.google.com/site/archaeolibrarian/merissa-reviews/ignitemidnightfire1bykaitlyndavis
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-28 09:25
Lack of craft and editing extinguishes the potential in "Ignite"


In a dystopian future with civilization all but destroyed, Emperor Donovan, a wicked, evil, despot rules an area that includes London Ruins. His DRT (?) agents control the impoverished subjects with ruthless violence and the help of digital implants embedded in each person at birth (?) that identifies who they are and where they are.


Jacks is a homeless, pickpocket in her early teens. Her parents, branded as rebels, were murdered before her eyes when she was just a child. Her hatred for the Emperor and his agents is only slightly less than her will to survive.


When she is asked to see what has happened to a friend she stumbles on a roundup of subjects by DRT agents looking for rebels. To save them from execution she creates a distraction only to find she's not the only one on a rescue mission.


Members of The Flames, an underground movement fighting against the tyranny of the Empire, are there as well and their members and Jacks form an uneasy alliance.


Gradually Jacks becomes accepted by The Flames, which consists of only five members all in their teens. However, the group's leader, Zira, feels uneasy about the new recruit.


As the rebel group fights to save innocents as well as themselves from the malevolent Emperor Donovan and his henchmen, Zira's apprehension comes to the fore as she is forced to reveal secrets of her own that involve Jacks.


As dystopian fiction goes Ignite is not very original but it does have potential. Unfortunately, that potential is squandered by lack of craft including amateur writing, lack of plot structure, one dimensional characterization and chapter after chapter that do little or nothing to advance the plot or develop character.


For example, the Emperor and his agents are without exception evil, nasty, cruel and stupid. The Flames are without exception good, nice, friendly, and exceptionally smart especially for teenagers living in a society that has collapsed.


They are constantly one up on the bad guys even though there are a lot more of them and they have unlimited resources including weapons.


Hold on, two of The Flames are from a wealthy "shiner" family. Their father was thrown into the dungeons for consorting with rebels but apparently the Emperor forgot to confiscate the family wealth and throw the wife and children into the street, so now the kids use their father's money to undermine the Empire.


If you think that's dumb, the DRT agents of the Empire are so stupid they don't even think to have paid or coerced informants in the general population considering everyone is starving and they'd likely sell their mother not to mention The Flames, for a meal.

But no they wouldn't because in Rogland's dystopian future everyone poor is honest, noble and loyal to The Flames, starving or otherwise.


In addition to attaining more writing (and reading) experience what author Danielle Rogland desperately needs is a good editor. Someone who can tell her that using adverbs to describe the delivery of almost every sentence of dialogue she's written is the mark of an amateur. If your dialogue needs to be described it likely is weak and needs to be rewritten using a stronger verb.


A good editor would cut back on the tedious descriptions of setting suggesting she leave it to the readers imagination. Most importantly, her editor would tell her to delete or significantly cut the chapters that are basically redundant chit chat and do little or nothing to advance the plot or develop character.


In the end, Ignite would be tight, entertaining and about two-thirds as long as it is now with all the superfluity eliminated.


I received this e-book free from Inkitt in return for an honest review.


Inkitt says its  mission is "to ensure fair publishing and objectivity for authors. Who are we or any editor in the world to judge whether your book is worth publishing? We don’t think that we or any so-called “expert” is in a position to judge your work. You write your book for your readers, and the most important factor is whether your readers like it or not. That is what we measure at Inkitt."


And how do they do this?


"We built artificially intelligent algorithms that have the ability to analyze reading pattern data and engagement levels. This allows us to make objective and data-driven decisions regarding a novel's potential to become a bestseller. "


Apparently none of the above, as copied from Inkitt's site, has anything to do with good writing, but hey, who am I to argue with artificially intelligent algorithms, or how many people you can persuade to click on your online book and add it to their "reading list".


All the same, and despite being approved by artificially intelligent algorithms, I'm giving Ignite two stars.





Source: www.rodraglin.com
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?