logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: new-releases
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-03-26 19:48
It Happens All the Time
It Happens All the Time: A Novel - Amy Hatvany

By: Amy Hatvany

ISBN:1476704457

Publisher: Atria

Publication Date: 3/28/2017

Format: Hardcover

My Rating:  5 Stars

 

One of my all-time favorite authors, Amy Hatvany returns following Somewhere Out There (2016) with her most emotional and timely book yet: IT HAPPENS ALL THE TIME — an exploration into two different experiences of rape.

View the author's powerful video. Author, wife, mother, friend, rape survivor.

A girl. A guy. Childhood friends. Consent. Rape. Their families. A tragedy which changes everything. A desperate need for justice and revenge.

There is one thing (well, more than one) you can come to expect from Amy Hatvany: She is not afraid to tackle tough issues of the heart, with honesty and superbly researched topics —critical for today’s contemporary woman, no matter the age.

Amber Bryant and Tyler Hicks have grown up together. Best friends from an early age through teen years. Their parents were friends. Ty comes from and abusive father. The Bryants took Ty and his mom under their wing and have always included them in family activities.

Amber has had food and self-esteem issues throughout her life. Tyler battles his self-esteem issues with his father. Amber always thinking she is fat, to the point she almost lost her life. It is a topic her parents to this day are sensitive about when they note her eating habits.

Tyler has always been her very best friend. He has always been in love with her. The feeling has not been mutual. From Amber’s side, it is more friendship, not love. Now Amber has graduated from college and is engaged to be married. She returns home to visit with her family and runs into Tyler. Tyler stayed in town and become a local paramedic.

Both Amber and Tyler are experiencing things in their own individual lives. Both are troubled in different ways. Even though Amber is engaged to med student Daniel, Tyler is excited to have his old friend back in town. Deep down he always hopes he has a shot. Amber starts second guessing her decision to get married.

They go out and have too much to drink, which leads to a sexual encounter. Things get out of control and Amber says, “no.” Tyler does not stop. This devastating experience changes the dynamics of this couple and everyone close to them, including their family, forever.

Hatvany explores both sides of the story, combined with her own raw emotion and personal tragedy. A sense of powerlessness and self-destruction behavior.

Amber doubts herself. How could this have happened? Her best friend. How could not remember the events and how they unfolded? What happened to consent? She soon becomes obsessed with taking the matter into her own hands. She will force him into admitting what he had done. Was he more like his dad than he wanted to admit?

The characters grapple with themselves as well as one another. Exploring healthy and unhealthy ways people respond to and recover from trauma, including revenge, therapy, obsession, denial, eating disorders, drug abuse, sex, support groups, social withdrawal, exercise, legal action, and violence.

 

A compelling look at a topic of rape; which is brushed under the radar more often than we may expect. Especially when the victim knows the other party.

Furthermore, when the parents are friends and the person is someone you have trusted your entire life, and now has betrayed you. Shattered lives. Someone will have to pay for the injustice.

Often the law fails the victim. More than one will have to possess the courage to step up and admit their mistakes and be prepared for the consequences. When events are not always black and white. Moral lines are crossed.

Powerful storytelling. Emotionally gripping. Struggling with the aftermath of rape, and domestic violence.

For fans of Diane Chamberlain, Heather Gudenkauf, Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty, Jennifer Weiner, and Sarah Pekkanen. An ideal choice for book clubs and further discussions. Another winner by Hatvany!

On a side note: When posting a review, I often link to the previous book, read by the author. However, when I scrolled back to reference all the books I have read by Hatvany, I noticed each book was a "5-star rating!" How often does an author consistently deliver consistent quality, high-charged absorbing and timely issues?

It is rare. Why I wanted to include all the book reviews here by the author, for those of you which may be new to Amy Hatvany. An author you will soon move to the "top" of your favorite author list. Each book one is uniquely different with a critical takeaway message.

2011 Best Kept Secret
2012 The Language of Secrets
2012 Outside the Lines
2013 Heart Like Mine
2014 Safe With Me
2016 Somewhere Out There

A special thank you to Atria and NetGalley for an early reading copy. Stunning cover. Would make a great movie.

JDCMustReadBooks

 

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2016/08/19/It-Happens-all-the-Time
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-03-25 21:51
New Releases in Series: Monday, March 27
Dirty Filthy Rich Men - Laurelin Paige
Lines Drawn - Ker Dukey Lines Drawn - Ker Dukey
Nomad (Sons of Sanctuary MC) (Volume 3) - Victoria Danann
Say I'm Yours - Corinne Michaels
Strays (Urban Soul) (Volume 2) - Garrett... Strays (Urban Soul) (Volume 2) - Garrett Leigh

 Dirty Filthy Rich Men - Laurelin Paige   #2 in Dirty Duet

 

Lines Drawn - Ker Dukey   #2 in Drawn To You

 

Nomad - Victoria Danann   #3 in Sons of Sanctuary

 

Say I'm Yours - Corinne Michaels   #3 in Say

 

Strays - Garrett Leigh   #2 in Urban Soul

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-03-25 20:23
Released Today in Series books
Lucky Charm (Spellbound Paranormal Cozy Mystery Book 4) - Annabel Chase

This is #4 in Spellbound Paranormal Cozy Mystery series.

 

From Fictfact's New Release Calendar.  (Which shows that next Tuesday there's a bumper crop of 72 new releases in series.)

Source: www.fictfact.com/BookReleaseCalendar
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-03-24 17:47
Ooh...this is not yet out but I definitely want to read
Inferior: How Science Got Women Wrong—and the New Research That's Rewriting the Story - Angela Saini

Research by men in earlier decades about women is like a student re-writing a Wikipedia article to prove their paper.  Synopsis says:

"What science has gotten so shamefully wrong about women, and the fight, by both female and male scientists, to rewrite what we thought we knew

 

For hundreds of years it was common sense: women were the inferior sex. Their bodies were weaker, their minds feebler, their role subservient. No less a scientist than Charles Darwin asserted that women were at a lower stage of evolution, and for decades, scientists—most of them male, of course—claimed to find evidence to support this.

 

Whether looking at intelligence or emotion, cognition or behavior, science has continued to tell us that men and women are fundamentally different. Biologists claim that women are better suited to raising families or are, more gently, uniquely empathetic. Men, on the other hand, continue to be described as excelling at tasks that require logic, spatial reasoning, and motor skills. But a huge wave of research is now revealing an alternative version of what we thought we knew. The new woman revealed by this scientific data is as strong, strategic, and smart as anyone else.

 

In Inferior, acclaimed science writer Angela Saini weaves together a fascinating—and sorely necessary—new science of women. As Saini takes readers on a journey to uncover science’s failure to understand women, she finds that we’re still living with the legacy of an establishment that’s just beginning to recover from centuries of entrenched exclusion and prejudice. Sexist assumptions are stubbornly persistent: even in recent years, researchers have insisted that women are choosy and monogamous while men are naturally promiscuous, or that the way men’s and women’s brains are wired confirms long-discredited gender stereotypes.

 

As Saini reveals, however, groundbreaking research is finally rediscovering women’s bodies and minds. Inferior investigates the gender wars in biology, psychology, and anthropology, and delves into cutting-edge scientific studies to uncover a fascinating new portrait of women’s brains, bodies, and role in human evolution."

 

Another book spotted on  the Early Reviewer ARCs over on LibraryThing.

Source: www.librarything.com/er/list
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-03-23 16:18
If Not For You
If Not for You: A Novel - Debbie Macomber

By:  Debbie Macomber

New Beginnings #3

ISBN: 9780553391961

Publisher: Random House

Publication Date: 3/21/2017 

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 4 Stars

 

Debbie Macomber returns following A Girl's Guide to Moving On (New Beginnings, #2) with her third in the New Beginning Series IF NOT FOR YOU a charming fun contemporary tale of unexpected romantic connections with Macomber’s own Hallmark signature style.

Second Chances. Fresh Beginnings. Self-discovery. Healing.

Set in Portland, Oregon, twenty-five-year-old Beth Prudhomme has escaped the clutches of her overbearing mother, moving to a new town to teach music, near her aunt.

As the book opens she going on a blind date with a mechanic, Sam Carney. A total opposite. Mutual friends, Nichole and Rocco have made the introduction.

One look at Sam made it clear they were not a good match. Definitely not, what Beth’s mom would choose. Which also makes her smile. In her mother’s eyes, Sam would be unacceptable due to his tattoos and long hair. Her mother had high expectations for her daughter’s future husband.

 

Sam was handsome and rough around the edges. However, there is a car accident and it is Sam who stands by her. However, once she is released the bond they developed will be tested. Can they get past their differences?

In addition, there is another storyline with her aunt Sunshine. Beth becomes involved in her aunt’s personal romantic affairs.

Enjoyed the author’s inspiration for the book and her granddaughter’s poem, “The Warning Label No One Reads.”

An easy breezy light-hearted delightful romantic spring chick-lit which Macomber’s fans will enjoy. (A beautiful cover which draws you in).

A special thank you to Random House and NetGalley for an early reading copy.

JDCMustReadBooks

 

 

Enter a Goodreads Book Giveaway Contest
Mar 21 - Apr 11, 2017  Enter Here 

 

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2016/11/02/If-Not-For-You
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?