Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: less-than-a-treason
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2018-04-26 13:55
Palace of Treason (Red Sparrow Trilogy #2) More realistic spies this episode
Palace of Treason - Jason Matthews

Palace of Treason made me happy. It was the spy novel closest to the ones I love - international intrigue, CIA officers who crack wise with each other, bungling upper managers who couldn't carry a mission in a bucket, stupid puns, great characters on all sides, honor, loyalty, danger, intrigue... That this second novel in the series was so good surprised me, given I thought the first book was just OK. I am headed off to bed with the final part of the trilogy having just grabbed it from the library today. That worked out very well (though I will admit I'm ignoring a few book club books to read these first.)


Nate and Domi (now settled in to her place at the SVR and her code name DIVA) are joined by a larger cast, though the main players are still around. There's levity whenever the CIA team gets together because they are good at their jobs and good at digging each other. Their banter offers space for a breath in a very suspenseful plot.


Basically it's another mole-hunt extravaganza, but this time there's a mole that could expose DIVA's real name. She has a terrifically talented new handler in Moscow, and Dominika doesn't make it easy for anyone to handle her, so she does daring things, putting herself in terrible danger more often than anyone would like. She's never stupid though, and her reasons for putting herself in danger make sense.


Beyond that, Nate and Domi are still together (though usually apart) and they're much more careful in this book. That made my reading less exasperating and my life less terrifying. Please real spies - keep your pants on! Their affair is constantly a point of contention within the CIA and frequently gets Nate in trouble (also he gets called the Dumbassador of StupidLand by his boss, which is cute. The team that handles DIVA from the CIA side are a great trio of characters, with Nate being the least interesting of the three.)


Dominika is gaining ground in the SVG, partying with Putin and the oligarchs and working her way up in Moscow while reporting back to Washington (or wherever the guys are currently stationed - Athens mostly in this book.) One can only imagine what might happen in the final installment. Domi was barely alive when this one ended, so I need to go read that final book of the trilogy now.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-01-26 06:19
The Lion of the South - Book Review

If you loved the Scarlet Pimpernel, then you are going to love this book.

Julia Dandridge is back to visit friends in the state of Virginia. Around them, the Civil War is raging, and many families have been torn apart by the ravages of war. As she attempts to fit back into the mold of familiar surroundings, she is struck by the coldness of her once dear friend Landon Graham. Instead of welcoming her back to the home she lived in as a child, he seems angry that she is even there. Living with the weight of the death of his brother, Landon cannot seem to rejoin the world that he once so enjoyed. Instead he drinks heavily and hides himself away in his room.
With Julia there, small snippets of the past seem to slip through, only to be replaced with the cold contempt that has become his norm.
But the war is not one where women sit silent. Many women are involved in listening to the conversations around them and gain valuable information that can be used for military intelligence. Julia has been told that her brother is being held in prison, and that he will be hanged as a traitor if she does not help figure out who the Lion of the South is.
The Lion of the South has been raiding behind the enemy lines, making off with prisoners and officers alike. No one knows where he will strike, and he seems to come and go like a ghost. Julia is offered her brothers life in exchange for the Lion of the South. As she prepares to give the information, she finds that someone she is extremely close to may be involved, and may cause her to not only lose a brother, but the love of her life as well.

I enjoyed reading this book, but from the middle of the book on, it read just like the Scarlet Pimpernel in a different setting.


Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-26 07:32
Reading progress update: I've read 100%.
Fire War 11: Treason - Michael T. Murray

This one was better but a quicker read. I really felt bad for Mr. Jackson and what he went through in this book. The President was even worse in this book then the first one. A lot of things happened in this book for the length of this one compared to the first one.

I really enjoyed the two children of Mr. Jackson, and what happened at the end of the last book, to one of them was just sad. But also what made Mr. Jackson finally open up his eyes on exactly who the President is. As well as what the President is trying to do to are country. So the ending was full of action and gives us the readers, some answers that we might have had. I would definitely recommend this series to my family and friends.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-11-13 00:00
Fire War 11: Treason
Fire War 11: Treason - Michael T. Murray Jackson oldest daughter Maya has been taken by the government for rehabilitation for having propaganda in her procession. Jackson wants to get his daughter back so he turns to the only people he knows that can help him and that is the Apocolyte a rebel group that is trying to over throw the government and bring out the truth in order to take back their country and save the people.

The Apocolyte have agreed to help Jackson but in turn he must do a favor for them. It is like you scratch my back and I will scratch your back kind of thing so of course Jackson agrees. After his daughter was taken away it caused Jackson to open his eyes more to really be able to see what the president is doing. With his position at the White House as the president’s top security guy Jackson has access to a lot of information that could help the Apocolyte.

Jackson must now decide which side he wants to play on. Which side does Jackson believe in? Does he think that the president is doing the best thing for the country? Is the president the good guy or the bad guy? Is the Apocolyte the good people or the bad people? Whose team does Jackson want to play on?

Fire War II: Treason has been a fast read it will grab your attention with the first word and will hang on right up to the last word and leaving you wanting more. This has been an awesome journey one in which I can’t wait to follow more of in the next book Fire War III: Uprising.
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-11-03 15:12
I will scan the cover later
Gunpowder Treason And Plot - C. Northcote Parkinson

This is another Friends of the Library purchase years ago.  I just have to remember where I shelved it.  Out in the studio maybe?


More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?