logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Rick-Chesler
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-05-21 15:12
Audio Book Review: Treasure of the Dead
Treasure of the Dead: A Dane and Bones Origin Story (Dane Maddock Origins) (Volume 9) - David Wood,Rick Chesler

*I was given this review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

In 1715 a ship full of treasure has been pushed off course with terrible storms. El Senor San Miguel runs onto land. When one of the crew makes land, he is horrified by what he finds limping on the beach.

Bones agrees to go on treasure hunting in the vast ocean with Maddock and has the first spot in mind. Bones had received a call from a dear friend of his when she received information from a cousin that's been found dead, mauled by animals. Maddock and Bones will quickly learn that trouble follows them whether in the service or on their own hunting treasure.

Jeffrey has voiced all the stories in this world with these men, and he is with us again. Jeffrey has become the voice of Maddock and Bones and all friends they interact with. The best part, I feel as the personality and tone given to Maddock and Bones fit the people written in words. For some reason Bones feels natural, but he's probably my favorite of the two. lol. Jeffrey never gives away a feel that something is coming, he adds just enough tension to the story by keeping in the here and now. This leaves me feeling comfortable with the characters but knowing with the writing of David and Rick that something is coming, I'm just waiting for it.

In the beginning we see a glimpse of a different side of Maddock and Bones. They left SEAL just months ago, and both are struggling adjusting to civilian life. Bones seems to be worse in a different way than Maddock, needing a release for pent up frustration. I like seeing them struggle after their life has been SEAL for so long. The life they lived is completely different than how they are to live now. Maddock shows up to ask Bones to help on a treasure hunting expedition, something they know how to do but less dangerous for their lives. These two never lose their great humor that makes me smile even in the tough times.

This is a slower start in the way of action for Maddock and Bones. But the authors strategically write in sections, as they are known for, with other characters. The events of the other characters then lead to our guys arriving, and things don't go as smoothly as it should, which could be to Bones and Maddock's liking. Well, maybe just Bones. They do enjoy their danger.

We see Bones flirting, as usual but with someone that he has some past with. The friend that contacted Bones is/was more than a simple friend. She and Bones have history together.

I always enjoy getting to spend any hour with Maddock and Bones. Their banter always brings a smile to my face while their adventures make my heart race. I enjoy the twist to the history that's created, a twist with a slight paranormal feel to it, as we go on the expedition not knowing what we'll walk into yet knowing it's going to result in danger and action.

This book is shorter in length, as audio it's just shy of 5 hours. The authors keep the story to the point of action, where we learn details of what we are looking for which leads eventually to troubles for our guys. We don't waste time getting from one point to the next as long as there is nothing extraordinary happening.

When things start to come out in the end, it all happens fast. Maybe a bit to fast, but that's the way it washes out in the end - all at once.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-03-21 15:00
Sawfish Review (audio book)
Sawfish - Rick Chesler

I knew there was a chance that I would be disappointed when I decided to purchase Sawfish, given what I've read from the author in the past. However, I really like his ideas, and this sounded like the perfect sort of relaxing monster novel to listen to. It's been a while since I had one of those, so I decided to give Mr. Chesler another chance.

I wish I hadn't.

Sawfish has a great concept. It sets up perfectly to be this rip-roaring, monster-of-the-deep sort of novel. It had the potential to be so-bad-it's-good. Instead it was just bad. The sawfish was cool, don't get me wrong. The problem is that the author spends way too much time on the two main characters. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, except in this case both of the main characters are unlikable idiots!

For fans of The Walking Dead, Raymond is an evil Eugene. At least that's how I pictured him in my head. It didn't help that the narrator had that sort of nasal tone which built the ticked-off nerd image in your head. (The narrator was a perfect choice for this book, actually. I think it made it feel a bit more believable being told in that particular tone.) He wants revenge and then he wants to get back the attention he feels he rightly deserves. He's a toe rag.

But I will give Rick Chesler this: Even though Raymond is a douche, I still found myself rooting for him. When he's going up against the sawfish, I was hoping he'd win. He's not a likable character by any means, but you do find yourself cheering for him occasionally.


Elise is worse than Raymond is, and that's saying something. It's been a while since I disliked a female character as intensely as I disliked her. At least he had intelligence going for him, even if his personality and ego often overruled it. I spent too much of the book actively hoping something gruesome happened to her.

My favorite chapters were the sawfish attacks. The characters in them were often throwaways, but I didn't care. Those were the sections of the novel that I wanted to read more of. Anything so that I wouldn't have to listen to Raymond whine, boast, and plan.

Most of the ending was pretty good. The location and how things got rigged up was unique. The author did a great job of painting the scene in my mind. But the last few pages ruined it for me. My opinion already wasn't high on the book, and then we have something completely unbelievable happen from one of the characters. The twist wasn't believable. Not even a little bit.

Overall, it was a great concept and was voiced by a good narrator. I just didn't care for the actual execution or the characters. Can't recommend it.

Source: www.scifiandscary.com/sawfish-review
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-10-15 21:51
Hotel Megalodon
Hotel Megalodon: A Deep Sea Thriller - Rick Chesler

I would give this 5 stars but I needed an editor. Toward the end, it had more and more grammatical errors. Other than that, I loved it. Total dino-shark mayhem.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-10-15 03:56
Reading progress update: I've read 48%.
Hotel Megalodon: A Deep Sea Thriller - Rick Chesler

 

Omg, love this.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-10-01 22:49
October Spooky Reads
Dreamcatcher - Stephen King
Hotel Megalodon: A Deep Sea Thriller - Rick Chesler
The Walking Dead: The Road to Woodbury - Jay Bonansinga,Robert Kirkman
Alien: Out of the Shadows - Tim Lebbon
Heart of the Dragon - Keith R.A. DeCandido
Underworld - S.D. Perry

I love this month. I get to read all the gory, scary monster books I can stand. Dinosaurs. Aliens. Ghosts. Demons. Oh my. 

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?