logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: between-the-lines-series
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-31 02:19
Defiance (Heart Lines Series Book 5) by Heather Hildenbrand
Defiance (Heart Lines Series Book 5) - Heather Hildenbrand

DEFIANCE by Heather Hildenbrand is an exciting addition to the Heart Lines Series. Sam’s story continues where book 4, IMBALANCE left off.  Sam discovered who Ea’s vessel is.  She is fighting over control of Hina and needs to prepare for the equinox.  Meanwhile, we discover what Alex’s role is in these events.  This contemporary urban fantasy is suitable for new adults.

 

DEFIANCE is thrilling and full of twists.  Alex and Sam have numerous trials and tribulations to overcome.  They discover interesting facts.  They learn things about themselves.  They face more than anyone should have to.   They are strong characters that you cannot help but like and admire. 

 

Heather Hildenbrand does an amazing job keeping this series fresh, exciting and believable.  She is a creative story teller and skilled writer.  I am highly anticipating book six, EMERGENCE.  I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader copy of this book.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-10-02 04:23
New taste
Outside the Lines (The Boundaries Series) - A.R. Barley

This is the 3rd book in the Boundaries series.  This book can be read as a standalone novel.  For reader enjoyment and understanding of the characters in the series, I recommend reading this series in order.

 

Mitch meets a sexy drag queen at a club, and then chickens out on meet her later.  Then he sees her again next door..... as his daughters princess.  Can he convince his neighbor that he is the real deal?

 

Chi-Chi has had enough with the wrong men.  Too many times they want only one thing and Chi-Chi wants more.  With much to offer, he is ready to find the one.  

 

So sweet and fun.  There was so much in this story for everyone.  I definitely laughed, cried and rooted for these two to get together.  This series just has so much heat and heart.  I give this story a 4/5 Kitty's Paws UP!

 

 

***This ARC copy was given by Netgalley and its publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-08-23 15:00
Book Review: Vertical Lines (The Vert Series #1) By Kristen Kehoe
Vertical Lines (The Vert Series) (Volume 1) - Kristen Kehoe

 

What a sweet and well written book. I can't tell you exactly what I adored in this book, but I can tell you that I'm so glad I picked it up. The pacing of it all was fantastic and the character's are so very lovable.

 

Jordana (AKA Jordan) is used to being told what to do and how to act. She's supposed to be the perfect woman, with the perfect life and study for something her family approves of. After a dinner gone wrong she starts to rebel. Not in the sense of drugs and all that other nonsense. She meets a guy that makes her want to get out of the shell created by her mother and actually live like a college student should and have friends that like her for her and not for what she could represent to their future. I loved how she found her backbone and stuck to it during the entire novel.

 

I loved Brooklyn (AKA Brooks) until the last 3 chapters. As much as I understand where he was coming from, I just can't imagine I'd be OK with something like that, when I look at it from Jordan's point of view. He was awesome until that breaking point and, to me, he was never the same. One thing I liked right off the bat was his love of art (painting, drawing, photographing). Too bad he did what he did at the end.

 

This book also features a character who has the equivalent of body dysmorphia. Throughout the novel, you see how bad it gets and how everyone suffers right along with that person. At the end of the day it's something that's in their head and there's no amount of therapy and medication that will make it get better. It's a sad reality that only gets worse with the media's involvement. The acknowledgments from the author says something that's very true, "Be brave; be strong; be in love with yourself, first and foremost".

 

My Favorite Quotes:

 

"Remembering that beauty isn't one thing. It isn't one person. It's features, personalities, ideas, beliefs. It's confidence."

 

"Sometimes we need a reminder that life is easier than we think."

 

"I know well that dreaming can only give us what we want for so long before gravity drags us back down and forces us to live in the world we have created."

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-06-20 03:10
Book Review ~ Off the Page (Between the Lines #2) by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
Off the Page - Samantha van Leer,Jodi Picoult
 
 
 
Off the Page
(Between the Lines #2)
by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
Illustrations by Yvonne Gilbert
 
 
From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.
 
Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.
 
Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.
 
Click HERE to add to Goodreads
 
Once upon a time, there was a girl named Deliah and a prince named Oliver and they fell madly in love and lived happily-ever-after.  The End.
 
Oh wait…..I need to let you know what I thought of this cute story!!!
 
Off the Page is an enchanting and delightful read that I enjoyed reading a lot!  When I first picked it up and noticed that it was a companion novel to Between the Lines, I was a bit leery since I had not read Between the Lines and thought I would not know what was going on.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  The authors did such a wonderful job; I really didn’t need to read the first book to know what happened.
 
So apparently in Between the Lines, Deliah falls in love with a prince in a fairy tale that she has been reading.  But this was no ordinary fairy tale, oh no.  See, the characters in this book are actually alive within the story and when the book is opened by the reader, they begin their story telling skills.  When the book is closed, the characters live their lives within the confines of the book.  The prince in this story is Oliver, and he and Deliah fall madly in love.  There is just that one problem though of Oliver being a two-dimensional character.   After careful planning and a lot of trial and error, Oliver is finally out of the book living in the real world. 
 
Off the Page continues this story and what an entertaining story it was!  Living in a fairy tale is nothing like the real world, and Oliver has a lot of learning to do in order to look and sound normal.  It was enjoyable to read about him trying to figure out high school and meet new friends.  Thankfully, he has Deliah by his side helping him navigate his new world. 
 
For the most part, this was a happy story, but toward the end, there are some depressing and sad parts – somewhat like real life I suppose.  We have to take the good with the bad and the characters in this book and the story itself demonstrated this lesson very well. 
 
 
As I started reading this story, I was immediately hooked, not only with the wonderful writing, but with the beautiful illustrations that were included throughout.  It was full of funny moments and witty dialogue that made the story that more enjoyable.  This was an amazing story and the mother/daughter author team did a spectacular job in writing it.  This is the perfect novel for any young adult, but really, anyone looking to read a light-hearted story with a unique and delightful story line will enjoy Off the Page.
 
4 stars
 
 
Jodi Picoult is the author of twenty-two novels, including the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Storyteller, Lone Wolf, Between the Lines, Sing You Home, House Rules, Handle with Care, Change of Heart, Nineteen Minutes, and My Sister’s Keeper. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and three children.
 

 

 
Samantha van Leer is a junior in high school. She conceived the idea for Between the Lines and pitched it to her mom, Jodi Picoult, who was in the middle of a book tour. In her spare time, Samantha can be found playing softball, doing contemporary dance, acting and singing in musicals, and cuddling on the ground with her two dogs, Dudley and Oliver—for whom the prince in this fairy tale was named.
 
 
 
 

 

 
Source: avidbookcollector.blogspot.com/2015/06/book-review-off-page-between-lines-2-by.html
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2014-01-16 23:56
Clarity of Lines - N.R. Walker

This was a nice continuation of Thomas and Cooper's romance. In the first book, they dealt with the reality of falling for each other, despite their age difference of 22 years, and the fact that Cooper is friend's with Tom's son, Ryan. In this one, we see them dealing with being open with their family and friends. I thought both of them dealt with things quite admirably, Tom was perfect in the face of Coop's parent, his own contemporaries, and Cooper was wonderful when Tom had an unexpected loss.

These two are sweet and sexy, and oh so hot together, and like them, I just don't really sweat the age difference between them.

I did have a couple of little niggles though. The whole Xbox thing, there is no Xbox 3D, it's made by Microsoft, and comes out in America months before it comes out in Japan. I think only Nintendo consoles still come first in Japan. I feel like I should offer my services to authors who stick anything video game related into their books, because I almost always find myself pointing out the things that they get wrong. And the one age thing- Thomas was 44, and I'm 40, but I'm quite familiar with bands like Linkin Park, they have been pretty big for almost 15 years now. Perhaps Tom was more concerned with his work and his family, which I do understand, but it did feel like just a way to make Tom seem old, when 44 isn't that old anymore.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?