logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: read-in-2017
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-19 15:57
The Furthest Station by Ben Aaronovitch
The Furthest Station - Ben Aaronovitch

Series: Rivers of London/Peter Grant #5.7 (not sure why it isn't 5.5)

 

This novella is an excellent little interlude with a mystery involving ghosts on the Underground and showcases many of our favourite characters: Nightingale, Toby, Abigail, Jaget, and Molly. Even Guleed gets a mention although she doesn't make an appearance. We get exposed to a little bit of the history of the Folly and it's just all around good fun.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-19 04:55
Lilac Lane
Lilac Lane (A Chesapeake Shores Novel) - Sherryl Woods

A Chesapeake Shores Novel #14

By: Sherryl Woods

ISBN: 9780778331339

Publisher:  MIRA

Publication Date: 10/17/2017

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 4 Stars

 

Sherryl Woods returns with her popular Chesapeake Shores series following (2015) Willow Brook Road Chesapeake Shores, #13 with LILAC LANE (#14) —From Ireland to Chesapeake Shores – A magical place for healing and a little romance.

This time around we catchup with Moira and Luke O’Brien and their baby girl, Kate. Of course, with Nell and many of the familiar characters and places we love.

Moira is concerned about her mom, Kiera. Her husband Peter’s unexpected death was shocking after her second chance and raising her children on her own. Moria wants her to come and live in Chesapeake. 

A steady dose of the O’Briens will restore her spirits. She had wasted years of bitterness and regrets after Moira’s dad left. She had taken a chance on love and now he was gone.

Maybe she could tell her she needs help with the baby, but possibly she can get her a job at the Irish pub, keeping an eye on the chef and making sure he does not stray too far from the proper Irish recipes. 

Her mom needed the family. With much persuasion, she agrees to come to charming Chesapeake Shores as a consultant. She can always return to Dublin. 

She rents a lovely cottage on Lilac Lane and is feeling good being part of a family. However, soon learns her neighbor is none other than Bryan Laramie, the not so pleasant and annoying chef at the pub, with whom Kiera is constantly at war with. 

Moira soon sees the electricity between her mom and Bryan (similar to the relationship between her own relationship with Luke), when they first met. 

However, Kiera thinks he is infuriating. 

Of course, if you know the O’Briens they never mind their own business and the clan is always meddling to make sure everyone is happy.

Bryan, on the other hand, has his own past. He had enough broken hearts to last a lifetime and was still recovering from this last one.

Then his long-lost daughter shows up and both Bryan and Keira may have more in common than they may know. Plus, as always, there is always a community-wide event to ignite the flames.

With two complex personalities, it was time for the annual Fall Festival Irish Stew cook-off. And this town does nothing better than “stir the pot.”

 

 



With some competition, stubbornness, clever planning, Irish recipes, sacrifices, meddling, bets, some risks, and of course a little romance, to demonstrate love conquers all.

If you enjoy heartwarming stories of strong family bonds and authentic characters, Chesapeake Shores will draw you into their world with open arms. For fans of Debbie Macomber, Joanne Demaio, Mariah Stewart, and Susan Wiggs. 

LOVE the Chesapeake Shores series (TV series and have read all the books in the series)— among many of her other books. A longtime fan of Sherryl Woods, starting in my younger years (before Goodreads) thru today. I love the idyllic settings, vivid descriptions, and intriguing characters. 

Looking forward to hopefully Season 3 since Season 2 just wrapped up. Always look forward to the Sunday show. It makes me want to return to these books and read them for the second time. Sherryl allows you to escape and travel without leaving your home. It is the next best thing to being there. An ah moment. 

Many thanks to MIRA and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. I also listened to the audiobook, narrated by Christina Traister for an engaging listening experience.

In addition, I am very excited about the highly anticipated A Small Town Love Story: Colonial Beach, Virginia Coming Nov 14, 2017, on my Top 20 Books coming Nov. Part memoir, part oral history. The author gives us a rare and intimate look at Colonial Beach, Virginia. 

Readers you will want to add this to your library collection and your must-read list.

JDCMustReadBooks

 

 

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2017/08/14/Lilac-Lane
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-19 02:58
Pietr le Letton by Georges Simenon
Pietr Le Letton - Georges Simenon

Series: Maigret #1

 

I admit that I started skimming before the halfway mark but didn't drop it entirely because I wanted to see whether it went anywhere. It sort of did, but I really wasn't impressed by a "mystery" where the supposedly great detective just follows a suspected criminal around because he doesn't have enough on him to arrest him. There was very little detecting going on; it was almost all tailing.

 

Perhaps the series gets better. I'm pretty sure I've read another Maigret that was an ok read but this first book really doesn't want me to pick up any others.

 

At least this book let me reach my French book goal for this year. I need to pick better French books in general, though, because it seems that I rated the majority of my French choices as one-star reads. Ouch.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-19 02:04
The Grave's a Fine and Private Place
The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A ... The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel - Alan Bradley

Flavia is back and I can't get enough of it. She is a little melancholy but who could really blame her. Her life seems to finally go back to normal (well, her normal) when she finds a dead body while on vacation. In a town famous for previous murders Flavia just might end up solving more crimes than attempted too.

 

I was bit wary when I started to read this latest installment based on what had happened in the previous book. I wondered if everything would change. Thankfully for both Flavia and the reader's sake things didn't change all that much. If anything I loved the fact that Flavia and Dogger teamed up to solve the murder. I can't wait to see if they team up more in the future.

 

Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the galley.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-19 00:45
The Crow Trap
The Crow Trap - Ann Cleeves

Series: Vera Standhope #1

 

 

The first Vera Standhope book explores how a suicide may be linked to some subsequent murders and offers a late introduction to Vera herself. Overall I found the book to be quite enjoyable although I found the ending to be a bit of a let down, somehow. I do plan on exploring the rest of the series though.

 

This also marks my 144th book read this year, which completes my reading challenge. Not sure if I'll up it.

 

Previous update:

39 %

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?