logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: swashbuckling
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-07-12 00:22
Caliban's War - James S.A. Corey 
Caliban's War - James S.A. Corey

Better than the first. It's got most of the same elements, but instead of the noir mystery aspect this one has hardcore politics. And a non-stereotypical female main character who has agency to spare. And another non-stereotypical female main character who has nothing in common with the other one. A diverse cast and while intimate relationships aren't the focus, they are used to good effect to make the characters and the culture well-rounded.

 

I can't hardly wait to read the third one.

 

Library copy

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-12-09 19:01
Rejected Princesses: Tales of History's Boldest Heroines, Hellions, and Heretics - Jason Porath Short form: this book is awesome and every home and classroom should have a copy. Long form: This was a whim. I just picked it up because it had a fun cover and title, but once I started reading it I couldn’t bear to put it down. The introduction is amusing, the art is spot on, and the stories are delightful. Well, many of them have violence and heinous cruelty, or just plain gore, but Porath forewarns the reader with some very specific codes. And when he’s writing about the evil that is lynching he doesn’t shrink from sharing the horror. But also, whenever there is a specific named villain in the piece, he comes up with some amusing expletives. Somehow he manages to hit a sweet spot between maintaining a light tone and historical accuracy, and he manages to do it in both the text and the art. Even when he gives these women enormous Disney eyes he makes sure to get the period details right: you know he isn’t mocking these women, he’s taking them seriously but not striving for an imagined objectivity. And then there are art notes on many of the illustrations, which explain details one might miss and their significance. Dude has found his calling and I hope he sells beaucoup books and can continue to devote his time and energy to the project. I love this like I haven’t loved any history since Lies My Teacher Told Me. It only just hit me that the reason I loved this book so much was that I really needed to read about kick-ass women who got shit done and had fun and/or really improved their world. Library copy
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-11-21 17:32
Rejected Princesses: Tales of History's Boldest Heroines, Hellions, and Heretics - Jason Porath
Rejected Princesses: Tales of History's Boldest Heroines, Hellions, and Heretics - Jason Porath

Short form: this book is awesome and every home and classroom should have a copy.    

Long form: This was a whim. I just picked it up because it had a fun cover and title, but once I started reading it I couldn’t bear to put it down. The introduction is amusing, the art is spot on, and the stories are delightful. Well, many of them have violence and heinous cruelty, or just plain gore, but Porath forewarns the reader with some very specific codes. And when he’s writing about the evil that is lynching he doesn’t shrink from sharing the horror. But also, whenever there is a specific named villain in the piece, he comes up with some amusing expletives. Somehow he manages to hit a sweet spot between maintaining a light tone and historical accuracy, and he manages to do it in both the text and the art. Even when he gives these women enormous Disney eyes he makes sure to get the period details right: you know he isn’t mocking these women, he’s taking them seriously but not striving for an imagined objectivity. And then there are art notes on many of the illustrations, which explain details one might miss and their significance. Dude has found his calling and I hope he sells beaucoup books and can continue to devote his time and energy to the project. I love this like I haven’t loved any history since <i>Lies My Teacher Told Me</i>.

It only just hit me that the reason I loved this book so much was that I really needed to read about kick-ass women who got shit done and had fun and/or really improved their world.

Library copy

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-11-16 17:42
Rogues - George R. R. Martin, editor
Rogues -

Lots of charmers in the crowd. My favorite story was by Gillian Flynn, and is also available as a tiny stand-alone book, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and all those reverses. But it is still a good idea to get the great big book which is full of excellent short stories that take the idea of "rogue" in some interesting directions. Check out the list of contributors, there'll be at least one to delight everyone.

Library Copy

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-11-01 20:39
Princeless: Raven The Pirate Princess Book 1: Captain Raven and the All-Girl Pirate Crew (Princeless Raven Pirate Princess) - Jeremy Whitley
Princeless: Raven The Pirate Princess Book 1: Captain Raven and the All-Girl Pirate Crew (Princeless Raven Pirate Princess Tp) - Jeremy Whitley
  1. Such fun, every bit as appealing as Princeless, actually more so to me, because as much as I love a good sword fight, a sword fight on a ship is even better An excellent choice if you know a Pirates of the Caribbean fan, although this doesn’t have any horror. I’m curious to see what else spins out of Princeless.

 

Library copy

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?