logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: mr-wednesday
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-01-04 22:37
Brutal but stunning dark fantasy, this chilling debut goblin-king novel has roots in Norse mythology
White Stag - Kara Barbieri

In this dark fantasy, Janneke is the last child in a family of daughters and has been groomed to be the ‘male heir’, having been taught to hunt, track, and fight. When her village was burned to the ground she was the only survivor and was taken captive by the malicious goblin Lydian, who scars her for life, and who then sends her to work for his nephew Soren.

She then has to serve this monster who she is bonded to in the Permafrost. A brutal hunt begins for the beautiful white stag as Lydian and Soren compete for the throne of the next Goblin King. Janneke's humanity comes at the cost of becoming more attached and loyal to the goblin Soren, and as she has to learn to survive in the world she has been made to live in, learning truths about the past and about who she really is.

 

This is the first novel from a talented new author, Kara Barbieri, who brought it to life on WattPad; she has imagined a world called the Permafrost, heavily influenced by Nordic mythology, laden with dangerous monsters alongside the goblins, living in an unforgiving frozen landscape. Set to be the start of a series, ‘White Stag’ is both frightening and captivating.

*Frightening because of the amount of sheer brutality in the novel: there are plenty of references to rape, torture, mutilation, and abuse, as well as all the combat/fighting leading to bloodshed and descriptions of injuries and more. Janneke has been victim to unspeakable acts at the hands of Lydian, and we gradually learn about his true capabilities as the story goes on, making him just about the vilest character you can possibly ever read about. Soren, who she is bound to, is the unlikely antidote to this goblin villain, and ironically becomes the one to bring romance and emotion to her world, despite the ‘humanity’ leaving her life.

*That's your trigger warning, folks!

 

 

What I found most appealing about the book, is the journey that Janneke goes on, both physically and emotionally, which kept me captivated throughout; the hunt and the battles are relentless and test her constantly, and the relationship with Soren gradually changes. I've read some criticism of the relationship between her and Soren (I made the mistake of reading others' reviews, which I don't normally do), and I disagree that it would be unlikely that she would become attached to him, given that she is his charge and bound to him. I wasn't sure whether to attribute her feelings towards Soren to a sort of Stockholm syndrome or because she genuinely developed feelings for him because he seemed to care for her (he became more human as she lost her humanity). The dichotomy here is fascinating. They've been attached for some hundred years or so, and the intensity would undoubtedly bring some connection; why now though is more the question, but it makes for great reading.

 

Barbieri has set the stage for a series in a world that may trigger many readers but evokes images, not unlike the Game of Thrones and is for anyone who loves Viking or Nordic-inspired tales and mythology. I appreciated her sense of humor throughout the novel, and I know there is so much more to come from this bright light that is Kara Barbieri.

Source: www.goodreads.com/book/show/39863517-white-stag
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-08-23 01:52
The Euphemism
The Button - Wednesday Martin

Nope nope nope. DNF. This book started out discussing the finer points of a spider monkey's dangling clit. I'm out. 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-06-06 15:53
Win It Wednesday: Awakened by Virna DePaul

 

The original creator of Win It Wednesday is Vampire Book Club.

 

Win It Wednesday is back. I’ve got several books on my shelves that I’ve received from authors, publishers, bought myself and ones I’ve been picking up from my local library’s bookstore. All of these books I’ve been saving to pass along to you, my wonderful followers.

 

You know the drill. If you want this copy of Awakened to be yours, fill out the Rafflecopter form below. Check out the giveaway policy for the rules. I’ll ship USA and CANADA. You also get 4 bonus entries for joining my newsletter (Note: Newsletter is sent once a day and only if their is a post featured on the blog.)

 

Awakened
(The Belladonna Agency #2)
by Virna DePaul
 
Perfect for fans of J. R. Ward, Nalini Singh, and Lara Adrian, bestselling author Virna DePaul’s thrilling series of paranormal romances invites readers into a seductive and dangerous world where vampires secretly exist among the general population, while the FBI tries to keep the Rogues among them from preying on humans—for killing, for turning, for pleasure.

 

Ex-soldier Barrett Miles had no idea that vampires were real—until Belladonna recruits her to serve as a covert agent and infiltrate a murderous sex ring run by the most depraved of immortals, those who feed on the purity and blood of innocents. Their latest victim: a young girl whom Barrett promised to protect. She will be sold—unless Barrett can find her first. Forced to team up with her former lover, Nick Maltese, an undercover sniper, Barrett is caught between fulfilling her personal mission and shielding her heart from the man who betrayed her.

 

Nick’s hunting a new breed of vampires and harboring a terrible secret when Barrett finds him. Soon a seething underworld of strange desires threatens to engulf them all. Can he save the girl and reclaim Barrett’s heart? Nick knows he has only one chance to prove himself to her as the hunt begins—and their love forces them to embrace the darkest places in their souls.

 

 

Angel’s Guilty Pleasures is giving away one Used Paperback copy of Awakened
(Open USA/CA Only)

 

Click HERE to enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway

 

 

I was born and raised in Northern Indiana. I’m an outdoor sun loving reader living near San Fransisco. I’m a mother, wife, dog owner, animal, and book lover. I’m the owner, reviewer, and mind behind Angel’s Guilty Pleasures. My favorite animals are horses & dogs. As for reading I love all things paranormal & urban fantasy. My favorite shifters are dragons!

Facebook Twitter Google+   

 

 
Source: angelsguiltypleasures.com/2018/06/win-it-wednesday-awakened-by-virna-depaul
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-05-30 16:02
Win It Wednesday: She’s No Faerie Princess by Christine Warren

 

The original creator of Win It Wednesday is Vampire Book Club.

 

Win It Wednesday is back. I’ve got several books on my shelves that I’ve received from authors, publishers, bought myself and ones I’ve been picking up from my local library’s bookstore. All of these books I’ve been saving to pass along to you, my wonderful followers.

 

You know the drill. If you want this copy of She’s No Faerie Princess to be yours, fill out the Rafflecopter form below. Check out the giveaway policy for the rules. I’ll ship USA and CANADA. You also get 4 bonus entries for joining my newsletter (Note: Newsletter is sent once a day and only if their is a post featured on the blog.)

 

She’s No Faerie Princess
(The Others #10)
by Christine Warren

 

Queen Mab’s niece, Fiona, has long been bored to tears by the intrigues of Court life. She’d prefer to cut loose at a punk club, knock back a few Thai beers, and hook up with a likely lad of similar interests. But when Fiona goes AWOL, she only gets as far as Manhattan’s Inwood Park before a nasty demon nearly puts a permanent crimp in her plans–and a dark stranger sparks her desire…

 

All work and no play make Tobias Walker one cranky werewolf. After six months of doing his part to keep the peace during the delicate negotiations between the Others and humankind, he’d like nothing more than a good night’s sleep–preceded by an enthusiastic mating session. The alluring woman he rescues in the park might be the answer to his most lustful prayers, but only if they can both stay alive long enough to find out who wants her dead and why.

 

Now, Fiona and Tobias must unravel a tangled web of treachery that spans branches of the Fae, Other, and mortal worlds, all the while falling into a dangerous attraction that could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship–or the end for them both… 

 

 

 

Angel’s Guilty Pleasures is giving away one Used Paperback copy of She’s No Faerie Princess
(Open USA/CA Only)

 

 

 

I was born and raised in Northern Indiana. I’m an outdoor sun loving reader living near San Fransisco. I’m a mother, wife, dog owner, animal, and book lover. I’m the owner, reviewer, and mind behind Angel’s Guilty Pleasures. My favorite animals are horses & dogs. As for reading I love all things paranormal & urban fantasy. My favorite shifters are dragons!

Facebook Twitter Google+   

 

 
Source: angelsguiltypleasures.com/2018/05/win-it-wednesday-shes-no-faerie-princess-by-christine-warren
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-03-26 17:21
Spending My Hard Earned Credits
Wednesday the Rabbi Got Wet: A Rabbi Small Mystery, Book 6 - Harry Kemelman,George Guidall
In This Bright Future: DC Smith Investigation Series, Book 5 - Gildart Jackson,Peter Grainger

I have been a member of Audible for so long now that I have quite a library built up for re-reading, which is how I spend two-thirds of my reading hours, such that between the daily deals and two-fer sales, spending a whole credit on just one book is reserved for special occasions, like adding the titles of authors that I really, really enjoy reading and want to have more of. Kemelman and Grainger are two of those authors.

 

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?